2018/06/04 European Innovation Week in Taiwan 4 June to 8 June 2018

 European Innovation Week in Taiwan – 4 June to 8 June 2018
Strengthening business links between the EU and Taiwan

Taipei, 4 June 2018 - The second European Innovation Week is taking place in conjunction with the global leading ICT, IoT and start-up trade show, COMPUTEX TAIPEI.

The Deputy Director-General for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs of the European Commission (DG GROW), Antti Peltomäki, is leading a delegation of over 100 European companies and clusters from 16 European Member States. It is the largest delegation organised by European Commission to Taiwan. 

The European Innovation Week will feature a series of seminars on circular economy, smart manufacturing, smart mobility, 5G, medical devices, and Horizon 2020, the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation.

Business to business (B2B), clusters to clusters (C2C) and business to clusters (B2C) matchmaking meetings organised by our Enterprise Europe Network (EEN) partner in Taiwan, the Taiwan External Trade Development Council (TAITRA) will bring Taiwanese and European companies, clusters and institutes together to facilitate business and research cooperation. 

As many as 18 EU cluster representatives from 10 European countries active various fields, such as ICT, circular economy, renewable energy, smart cities, smart mobility, smart manufacturing,  smart grid and aerospace technology are travelling to participate at the cluster matchmaking. They will be meeting with some twenty Taiwan cluster representatives to seek opportunities to set up industrial, trade and investment cooperation.

European start-ups will also showcase at the European Union booth in the InnoVEX, a feature exhibit of COMPUTEX TAIPEI for start-ups on 6-8 June. European companies can spot the perfect fit in markets, accelerators, VCs and partners.

All information on the EU Innovation week is available in a dedicated website:

The European Innovation week is a joint initiative of the European Commission in collaboration with the Bureau of Foreign Trade (BOFT) and the Enterprise Europe Network (EEN) coordinated by TAITRA. Co-organisers of the European Innovation Week includes (in alphabet order): Bureau of Energy under Ministry of Economic Affairs (MOEA), Chinese National Federation of Industries (CNFI), the Department of Industrial Technology (DOIT) under MOEA, the European Cluster Collaboration Platform (ECCP), the European Chamber of Commerce in Taiwan (ECCT), Environmental Protection Administration (EPA) under Executive Yuan,  the EU Business and Regulatory Cooperation Programme in Taiwan (EBRC), European Economic and Trade Office (EETO), Food and Drug Administration under Ministry of Health and Welfare (MOHW),, Industrial Development Bureau (IDB) under MOEA, the Industrial Technology Research Institute (ITRI), Industries Research & Development Centre (MIRDC), Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST), Ministry of Transportation and Communications (MOTC), National Applied Research Laboratories (NarLabs), Smart Machinery Promotion Office, TAITRA, Taiwan Electrical and Electronic Manufacturers’ Association (TEEMA) and Taiwan Telematics Industry Taiwan (TTIA).